Player’s Dinner honors 2017 champs; Guenther inducted into HOF - The Golf Association of Philadelphia

Oct 25, 2017

Player’s Dinner honors 2017 champs; Guenther inducted into HOF

Posted in:
News, Tournaments

Player’s Dinner

HUNTINGDON VALLEY, Pa. — The Golf Association of Philadelphia formally honored its 2017 tournament winners during the organization’s 13th Player’s Dinner at Huntingdon Valley Country Club.

The event included cocktails, dinner, an awards presentation and Hall of Fame induction ceremony. The 2017 Players of the Year — Saucon Valley Country Club’s Matt Mattare (William Hyndman, III), LedgeRock Golf Club’s Chip Lutz (Senior), White Manor Country Club’s Don Donatoni (Super Senior) and Spring Ford Country Club’s Ben Pochet (Junior) — received their respective awards.

John Guenther, Jr., founder of Heidelberg Country Club and Moselem Springs Golf Club and multi-Major champion, became the 15th inductee in the Association’s Hall of Fame. Learn more about Guenther’s storied career in the fall edition of the Golf Association of Philadelphia Magazine.

Players of the Year
William Hyndman, III — Matt Mattare, Saucon Valley
Senior — Chip Lutz, LedgeRock
Super Senior — Don Donatoni, White Manor
Junior — Ben Pochet, Spring Ford

BMW GAP Team Matches – Philadelphia Cricket

BMW Philadelphia Amateur Championship – Gregor Orlando, Philadelphia Cricket

Brewer Cup
Senior – Scott Mayne, LedgeRock
Super Senior – Don Donatoni, White Manor

Frank H. Chapman Cup (Gross)
Senior – *Joseph Roeder, Little Mill
Super Senior – *Steve Tagert, Spring Ford

Frank H. Chapman Cup (Net)
Men – Hank Collins, Philadelphia Publinks
Women – Alison Kellock, Flourtown

Christman Cup – Ben Pochet, Spring Ford

Deeg Sezna
Gross – Bruce Cowgill & Nicky Marrollo, Whitford
Net – Doug Borgerson & Matt Marino, Huntingdon Valley/Waynesborough
Gross – Kevin Kelly & Luke Marvin, Philadelphia Cricket/Old York Road
Net – George Steinmetz & Lucas Steinmetz, Spring Ford
Gross – Owen Brown & Kelly Brown, Coatesville
Net – Nicholas Wert & Sherry Wert, Merion

Tee It Forward — Fall Net Championship
Men – Hank Collins, Philadelphia Publinks
Women – Lucia Simon, Saucon Valley

Father & Son (Middle) – *John & Jack Barry, Lancaster

Father & Son (Older)
Championship – Guy & Matthew McKeone, Reading/Moselem Springs
Super Senior – W. Scott & Chris Yard, Whitford

Father & Son (Younger)
Junior – Douglas & Wade Gregor, Huntingdon Valley
Junior-Junior – Jeffrey & Anthony Ciconte, Wilmington; Owen & Keller Mulhern, Whitford

Four-Ball Stroke Play Championship
Gross – Michael R. Brown, Jr. & Mark Wachter, Lu Lu/DuPont
Net –Michael Sanfrancesco & Brett Wallace, Kennett Square

Four-Man Team
Gross – Jason Barkley, Moselem Springs; Mark Coassolo, Brookside of Allentown; Shawn Lavin, Rolling Green & Peter Moran, Whitford
Net – Ted Kukawski, Wildwood; Gary Nolan, Jr., Rolling Green; Doug Pollock, DuPont & Russell Waters, Penn Oaks

Francis X. Hussey Memorial
Junior Boys – Daniel Galbreath & Conor McGrath, Huntingdon Valley
Junior-Junior Boys – Henry Fish & Darren Nolan, Chester Valley/Talamore
Junior Girls – Kathleen Mark & Riley Quartermain, Rolling Green/Llanerch
Junior-Junior Girls –Molly Gregor & Emma McGrath, Huntingdon Valley

Harry Hammond Award – Ron Robinson, Commonwealth National

Jock MacKenzie Memorial
Junior Boys – *Thomas Butler, Indian Valley
Junior-Junior Boys – Darren Nolan, Talamore
Junior Girls – *Meghan Fahey, Merion
Junior-Junior Girls – Molly Gregor, Huntingdon Valley

Junior Boys’ Championship – Dawson Anders, Indian Valley

Junior-Junior Boys’ Championship – Josh Ryan, Lu Lu

Junior Team Championship – Spring Ford

Marston Cup – Larry Benedetto, Concord

Middle-Amateur Championship – Ben Feld, Huntingdon Valley

Open Championship – Matt Mattare, Saucon Valley

Joseph H. Patterson Cup – Peter Bradbeer, Merion

Philadelphia Team Championship – Lu Lu

Senior Amateur Championship
Senior – Glenn Smeraglio, Lu Lu
Super Senior – Robert Billings, Rolling Green

Senior Club Team Challenge – (2016) Little Mill

Senior Silver Cross – Glenn Smeraglio, Lu Lu

Senior 27-Hole Challenge
Senior – Thomas Alestock & Robert Walters, Running Deer
Super Senior – Carl Everett & Steve Tagert, Merion/Spring Ford
Senior – Gregory Buliga & Paul Dansbury, Yardley
Super Senior – Edward Pappas & Robert Zakian, Rolling Green

Senior Four-Ball Stroke Play
Senior – Oscar Mestre & Raymond Thompson, Overbrook
Super Senior – Don Donatoni & Carl Everett, White Manor/Merion
Senior – Joseph Hacker & Robert Hackett, Jr., Wilmington
Super Senior – Thomas Mohr 7 Robert Zakian, Whitford/Rolling Green

Senior Four-Man Team
Gross – *David West, Whitford; Thomas Finn, Buddy Reed & Alan Wagenschnur, Loch Nairn
Net – Jamie Wolsky, RiverCrest; Hugh Gallagher, Les Wetty & Terry Woodward-Williams, Bellewood

Silver Cross – Peter Bradbeer, Merion

Tee It Forward — Spring Net Championship
Men – Jan Daniels, Laurel Creek
Women – Ineke Daniels, Laurel Creek

Super-Senior Silver Cross – Buck Jones, Philadelphia Publinks

Tournament of Champions
Amateur – *Kyle Henofer, Indian Valley
Senior – Donald Crossin, Fox Hill
Super Senior – Robin McCool, Saucon Valley

Francis B. Warner Cup (Gross)
Senior – Brian Corbett, Huntsville
Super Senior – Buck Jones, Philadelphia Publinks

Francis B. Warner Cup (Net)
Men – *Mike Connell, Springhaven
Women – *Josie Anthony, White Manor

Winter Series Players of the Year
Amateur Gross – David Waxman, Little Mill
Amateur Net – Greg Smith, Radley Run
Senior Gross – Richard Custer, Bellewood
Senior Net – Bernard Kelly, Little Mill

*-determined in playoff

Golf Association of Philadelphia
Founded in 1897, the Golf Association of Philadelphia (GAP) is the oldest regional golf association in the United States and serves as the principal ruling body of amateur golf in its region. Its 153 Full Member Clubs and 57,000 individual members are spread across parts of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware. As Philadelphia’s Most Trusted Source of Golf Information, the Golf Association of Philadelphia’s mission is to promote, preserve and protect the game of golf.

Share This: