Aug 11, 2020

Silver Cross Award playoff

Posted in:
Majors, News

Majors, Silver Cross Award

Silver Cross Award playoff set for Aug. 15

Loch Nairn Golf Club’s Zach Barbin and Pine Valley Golf Club’s Jeff Osberg will compete in an 18-hole playoff for the Silver Cross Award on Saturday, Aug. 15 at The 1912 Club.

| Scoring Portal | Standings | History |

Tee time is 7 a.m. Both Barbin and Osberg finished tied atop the Silver Cross Award standings at 137.

The Silver Cross Award is presented to the individual with the lowest aggregate score in the qualifying rounds of the BMW Philadelphia Amateur Championship and the two rounds of the Joseph H. Patterson Cup. It was reduced to 36 holes this year. COVID-19 procedures caused Amateur Qualifying to move from 36 to 18 holes. Hurricane Isaias washed out the first round of the Patterson Cup.

It is the first time in its 114-year history that the Silver Cross Award consists of 36 holes. There were five years in which the Silver Cross was not presented: 1917-18 (World War I) and 1943-45 (World War II).

Both Barbin and Osberg carded even-par 70s at Lancaster Country Club, site of this year’s BMW Philadelphia Amateur Championship. They matched 3-under-par 67s in the Patterson Cup at The 1912 Club, which Barbin won in a four-hole aggregate playoff over Osberg and Philadelphia Cricket Club’s Gregor Orlando.

Osberg seeks a fifth Silver Cross Award after wins in 2010, 2015-16 and 2019. Barbin is vying for his first. J. Wood Platt holds a record seven.

Celebrating Amateur Golf since 1897, GAP, also known as the Golf Association of Philadelphia, is the oldest regional or state golf association in the United States. It serves as the principal ruling body of amateur golf in its region. The Association’s 288 Member Clubs and 75,000 individual members are spread across the Eastern half of Pennsylvania and parts of New Jersey and Delaware. The GAP’s mission is to promote, preserve and protect the game of golf.

Share This: