HVCC's Spitzer to serve third term as President; two new board members appointed - The Golf Association of Philadelphia

Oct 30, 2019

HVCC’s Spitzer to serve third term as President; two new board members appointed

Posted in:

Annual Meeting

T. Quinn Spitzer of Huntingdon Valley Country Club was elected to serve a third and final one-year term as President of GAP for its fiscal year beginning Dec. 1, 2019. Spitzer, 70, served as the Association’s President for 2018 and 2019. Under the Association’s bylaws, Spitzer is only eligible to serve three successive years.

The election of the 17-member Executive Committee, including Officers, occurred on Oct. 30 during the Association’s 123rd Annual Meeting at Sunnybrook Golf Club in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

Also elected to one-year terms as Officers are Oscar L. Mestre, Overbrook Golf Club, Vice President; Richard Ogorek, Fieldstone Golf Club, Treasurer and Kenneth A. Phillips of Lancaster Country Club, Secretary. Jeffrey S. Henderson of Gulph Mills Golf Club is nominated for a one-year term in his current role as General Counsel. All Officers served in their respective roles in 2019.

Others on the GAP Executive Committee who were elected to serve an additional one-year terms each are C. Greg Guyer, Philadelphia Cricket Club; Edward P. Hutchinson, Tavistock Country Club; P. Edward Lovelidge, Hidden Creek Golf Club; Tracey S. MacGown, Saucon Valley Country Club; Michael B. McLelland, Chester Valley Golf Club; Glenn D. Meyer, Philmont Country Club; Noreen M. Mohler, Northampton Country Club; Jules J. Quinones, Blue Bell Country Club; Joseph F. Virdone, Philadelphia Country Club; and Barry J. Westington, Country Club of Scranton. Tina S. Gregor is an ex-officio member of the Executive Committee as a result of her role as Chairwoman of the Platt Caddie Scholarship Trust.

The two new representatives elected to their first one-year terms on the Executive Committee are:

Daniel A. Dreisbach of Wilmington Country Club. Dreisbach, 62, is a director of Richards, Layton & Finger, P.A., a Wilmington, Del. law firm specializing in corporation law.  He is the past co-chair of the firm’s corporate department and his practice involves advising corporations and their board of directors, including representation in litigation filed in the Delaware Court of Chancery.  Dreisbach has served Wilmington Country Club in many capacities, including six years on its Board of Directors, five years on its Executive Committee and has chaired the club’s golf committee and house committee.  He has served GAP as a course rater since 2015, and also rates courses for Golf Digest.  Dreisbach is also a member of Sailfish Point Golf Club in Stuart, Fla.  In addition to golf, for more than a decade he has mentored students at Bancroft Elementary School in Wilmington.  Dreisbach has bachelor degrees in science and engineering from Penn State University and Lehigh University, and a juris doctor degree from Temple Law School.  Dreisbach and his wife Carolyn live in Greenville, Del. and Stuart, Fla., and have four children (Brad, Lauren, Marianne and Jane) and two grandchildren (Lorelei and Tommy). 

Michael H. Lewers of Aronimink Golf Club. Lewers, 59, of Wayne, Pa., spent 33 years in the financial services industry, working in banking and asset management. His experience included stops at Meridian Bank (1983-93), Nuveen Investments (1993-2007) and BlackRock (2007-17). Lewers is president of Wayfinder Coaching, LLC, an executive coaching firm focused on leadership development, management and coaching skills for senior executives. In addition, he is a member of the Sacred Heart Academy’s Board of Trustees in Bryn Mawr, Pa., and a member of the Investment Committee of the United Way of Greater Philadelphia and Southern N.J. He is a 1983 graduate of Washington and Lee University with a B.A. in economics.

Retiring from the GAP Executive Committee as of its Nov. 30, 2019 fiscal year-end are Edward R. Brzezowski of Concord Country Club and Michael J. Walsh, III of Aronimink Golf Club. Brzezowski is retiring after five years (2015-19) on the Executive Committee. Walsh steps away after four years (2016-19) on the Executive Committee.

The 2020 Nominating Committee was chaired by Robert M. Morey of Merion Golf Club with Daniel B. Burton of Lancaster Country Club and John R. Choyka of Indian Valley Country Club serving as members. Morey and Burton are former GAP Presidents. Choyka is a former Executive Committee member.

Share This: