DIAA State Championships Day One: Maple Dale - The Golf Association of Philadelphia

Yiengst, Homer, Tatnall School lead after Day One

| Scoring portal |

The quest for DIAA (Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association) glory began Tuesday at Maple Dale Country Club in Dover, Del. This year’s DIAA State Championship field feature 12 schools with four-to-six golfers entered, making each of those eligible for the team championship.

In the Girls’ Individual Championship (par 72, 5,363 yards), Polytech High School junior and Wild Quail Golf & Country Club member Kylie Yiengst carded a round of 3-under-par 69 to take the Round One lead. She mixed four birdies and one bogey to get to her magic number. Sarah Lydic, a senior at Indian River School District and a member at Bear Trap Dunes Golf Club, was the other under-par member on the Girls’ leaderboard after a 70.

In the Boys’ Championship (par 72, 6,109 yards), Tatnall School junior and Wilmington Country Club’s Jack Homer carded the lone under-par round with a 71. He tallied four birdies and three bogeys. Homer’s teammate and senior Win Thomas, the defending champion, sits in second place with a 73.

Tatnall leads the team championship after Round One with a team total of 22-over-par 310.

The field will be cut to the low 60 and ties for Wednesday’s final round. The cut stopped at 87 for both divisions.


Celebrating Amateur Golf since 1897, GAP, also known as the Golf Association of Philadelphia, is the oldest regional or state golf association in the United States. It serves as the principal ruling body of amateur golf in its region. The organization’s 345 Member Clubs and 110,000 individual members are spread across Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey and Maryland. The GAP’s mission is to promote, preserve and protect the game of golf.

Name, School
Individual BoysR1
Jack Homer, Tatnall School71
Win Thomas, Tatnall School73
Matthew Kolbjornsen, Middletown HS75
Davin Lysik, Charter School76
Robert Lohkamp, Wilm Friends76
Gavin Garrison, Caesar Rodney76
Michael Dignazio, Tower Hill77
Jake Lairdieson, Archmere Academy77
Luke LaScala, Salesianum School78
Michael Liu, Archmere Academy78
Caleb Ritchey, Delmar HS/MS78
Jake Hollerback, Sussex Central79
Hayden Barr, Polytech HS79
Beckett Chipman, Tatnall School79
Thomas Weekes, Middletown HS80
Nicholas Belgrade, Salesianum School80
Zachary Antao, Wilm Friends80
Kenton Lightburn, Mt. Pleasant81
Joseph Crissman, Caesar Rodney81
Jacob Gabbard, Cape Henlopen81
Joshua Emel, Salesianum School81
Evan Gebhart, Caesar Rodney81
Avery Brown, Delmarva Christian81
James Watterton, Polytech HS81
Henry Nowak, Archmere Academy82
Brody Seip, Polytech HS82
Joel Perry, Delmarva Christian82
Robert Healy, Cape Henlopen82
Grant Burkhart, Salesianum School83
Austin Dostal, Sussex Academy83
Kingston Davis, Cape Henlopen83
Joshua Weigand, Wilm Friends83
Noah Marcelle, Milford HS83
Aidan Quintana, Middletown HS84
James Campbell, Charter School84
Nathan Torgerson, Appoquinimink HS84
Joseph Kelly, Salesianum School84
Anthony Manzi, Salesianum School84
Patrick Coates, Charter School85
Colin Burke, Odessa High85
Luke Bunting, Sussex Tech85
Lance McQuay, Delmarva Christian86
Shane Klapinsky, DE Military86
Dominic Piperno, Sussex Academy86
Maxwell Laznik, Newark Charter86
Justin Pal, Newark Charter86
Riley Horsey, Smyrna HS86
Cade Wallace, St. Georges86
Dylan Everett, Appoquinimink HS86
Damon Edwards, Dover HS87
Nate Zehner, Tower Hill87
Quinn Glass, Polytech HS87
Joe Ciconte, Tatnall School87
Missed Cut
Jack Talley, Appoquinimink HS88
Gabe Rabinovitch, St. Elizabeth88
Quinn Marshall, Wilm Friends88
Jack Okonowicz, Appoquinimink HS88
Daniel Baynum, Lake Forest88
Logan Brown, Newark Charter88
Phoenix Banks, Delmar HS/MS89
Edward Ghabour, Cape Henlopen89
Rudivan Mench, Charter School89
Haden Mazurek, Middletown HS91
Colin Burke, Sanford School91
Evan Zakielarz, Tower Hill91
Gabriel Arick, Saint Mark’s91
Sawyer Shade, Dover HS91
Edward Higgins, Delmarva Christian91
Travers Johnson, Cape Henlopen92
Matthew Hoopes, Concord HS92
Cole Dacey, Saint Mark’s93
Owen Newmark, Wilm Friends93
Dane Matthews, Red Lion93
Nicholas Schreiber, Milford HS93
Brooks McCall, Wilm Friends94
Christopher McDowell, Smyrna HS94
Fletcher Jones, Tatnall School94
Landon Leitner, Delmar HS/MS95
Brandon Farina, Saint Mark’s96
Grayden Ripanti, Odessa High97
Matthew Saccullo, Appoquinimink HS97
Daniel Garvin, DE Military97
Noah Vari, Appoquinimink HS97
Sam Maroney, Tower Hill98
Dalen Daminger, Cape Henlopen101
Individual Girls
Name, SchoolR1
Kylie Yiengst, Polytech HS69
Sarah Lydic, Indian River70
Sawyer Brockstedt, Tower Hill73
Reagan Garnsey, Caesar Rodney75
Meredith Finger, Archmere Academy79
Anna Firko, Concord HS81
Danielle Higbee, Archmere Academy81
Ashley Morgan, Caesar Rodney81
Krista Brosius, Caesar Rodney86
Hannah Webb, Archmere Academy86
Missed Cut
Kaitlynne Simmons, Odessa High93
Myra Glass, Polytech HS95
Team Championship
School, Score (Four of six count)
Tatnall School310
Polytech HS311
Caesar Rodney313
Archmere Academy315
Salesianum School322
Wilm Friends327
Tower Hill328
Middletown HS330
Charter School of Wilmington334
Cape Henlopen335
Delmarva Christian340
Appoquinimink HS346

Share This: