Cusick, Arthur repeat GAP Four-Ball Championship - The Golf Association of Philadelphia

Sep 09, 2004

Cusick, Arthur repeat GAP Four-Ball Championship

  MOSELEM SPRINGS, Pa.–Ronald Cusick, Sr., and Robert Arthur of Tavistock CC fired a 5-under-par 65 Thursday to win the Golf Association of Philadelphia’s 32nd Four-Ball Stroke Play Championship at Moselem Springs GC (par 70, 6,770 yards). It is the second time the two have captured the four-ball title.

  The duo, who won the championship in 2002 at Bellewood GC, carded six 3s, going out to blister the front nine in 4-under-par 31. Two birdies and a lone bogey on No. 14, a 444-yard par 4, brought them back in 1-under 34.

  “The course played tough,” Cusick said. “That was a good golf score on this course. We made the putts when we had to.” “It was fun,” Arthur added with a grin.

  Marlin Detweiler and his son, Brandon, 17, of Lancaster CC, took second-place honors with a 3-under-par 67. Brandon birdied the first three holes with putts from 10 feet, “one-quarter inch,” and 70 feet. He added a birdie on the par 4, 464-yard No. 8 as the Detweilers equaled the winners’ front nine score of 4-under 31.

  However, with bogeys on Nos. 11 and 14, both par 4s, and a birdie by Brandon on the 515-yard, par 5 No. 12, they were 1-over 36 on the back.

  Paul Rogowitz of Yardley CC and P. Chet Walsh of Philadelphia Country Club, carded a 2-under 68, as did Douglas Schroer and Jay Howson, Jr., of St. Davids GC. Todd and Chris Anderson of Wilmington CC, with a 69, were the only other team to break par.

Name Club Name Gross
1. Ronald Cusick, Sr. Tavistock CC 65
1. Robert E. Arthur Tavistock CC 65
2. Marlin Detweiler Lancaster CC 67
2. Brandon Detweiler Lancaster CC 67
*3. Douglas Schroer St. Davids GC 68
*3. Jay Y. Howson, Jr. St. Davids GC 68
4. Paul J. Rogowicz Yardley CC 68
4. P. Chet Walsh Philadelphia CC 68
5. Todd Anderson Wilmington CC 69
5. Chris T. Anderson Wilmington CC 69
*6. Michael Domenick Phoenixville CC 70
*6. John O’Sullivan Chester Valley GC 70
Drew Panebianco Talamore at Oak Terrace CC 70
Patrick G. Dougherty Talamore at Oak Terrace CC 70
Robert Galbreath, Jr. Huntingdon Valley CC 70
Brian Rothaus Philmont CC 70
Mark Peterson Philadelphia Cricket Club 70
Oscar L. Mestre, Jr. Overbrook GC 70
Gerard F. Ascolese North Hills CC 71
Patrick O’Brien North Hills CC 71
Brian R. Owens Gulph Mills GC 71
Kevin Cahill Waynesborough CC 71
Benjamin Spence Berkleigh CC 71
Thomas Soares Berkleigh CC 71
Jay Filling Bent Creek CC 71
Mark Leaman Lancaster CC 71
David Giles Moselem Springs GC 71
Lawrence Schultz, Jr. Moselem Springs GC 71
Byron Whitman Philadelphia Publinks 71
Jim Yenser Philadelphia Publinks 71
Francis X. Downey North Hills CC 72
Joseph M Shevlin North Hills CC 72
Carlos Ochoa Little Mill CC 72
Thomas Hyland Little Mill CC 72
Chris Terebesi Chester Valley GC 72
Michael Gregor Huntingdon Valley CC 72
Michael Rose Ashbourne CC 72
James Ward Reading CC 72
Arthur J. Kania, Jr. Overbrook GC 72
Michael Shevlin Llanerch CC 72
Brian Corbett Huntsville GC 72
Matthew Cuddy Huntsville GC 72
Santo Lafoca Huntsville GC 72
Michael J. Metz Fox Hill CC 72
Chris Smedley Coatesville CC 72
Anthony M. Apostolico Deerfield G&TC 72
John Dickinson Deerfield G&TC 72
Freddy Henriquez Deerfield G&TC 72
Kerry Maloney CC of Scranton 72
Michael Vassil CC of Scranton 72
Gordon Bennett Northampton CC 73
Fran Tusak Silver Creek CC 73
Eric Buck Coatesville CC 73
Jerry Hostetler Lancaster CC 73
Michael Ceribelli Chester Valley GC 73
Edmund C. Chylinski Chester Valley GC 73
Michael E. McKee Deerfield G&TC 73
Dan Missar Deerfield G&TC 73
Michael Shoup Sandy Run CC 73
Jim Muehlbronner Sandy Run CC 73
Ken Gaskill Philadelphia Publinks 73
Jon Mabry Moorestown Field Club 73
John C. McKay Commonwealth National GC 73
John Alterman Commonwealth National GC 73
Chris Yard Whitford CC 74
Pat Henneghan Whitford CC 74
Kelly Patton Heidelberg CC 74
William Norris Reading CC 74
Marc A. Mandel White Manor CC 74
Don Donatoni White Manor CC 74
Tom Conboy, Jr. Sandy Run CC 74
Vincent E. Coll, Jr. Sandy Run CC 74
David A Jordan Woodbury CC 75
Edward Anton Woodbury CC 75
Richard Lownes Manufacturers G&CC 75
Joe Cunningham Manufacturers G&CC 75
Gregory I. Gaul Merion GC 75
Bill Kovach Philadelphia Publinks 75
Joseph Karam CC of Scranton 75
Tom Sohns CC of Scranton 75
Jeffrey Hall Merion GC 75
Gordon W. Jamieson Merion GC 75
Leonard Pearson Philmont CC75
Andy Karff Philmont CC 75
Jason Barkley Berkleigh CC 75
Donny Wessner Applebrook GC 75
Bill Gordon Inniscrone CC 75
Peter Patellis Inniscrone GC 75
Dino J. Volpi, III Plymouth CC 75
Scott Rosan Philadelphia Cricket Club 75
Robert G. Dziak Spring Ford CC 75
Shane Dooley Spring Ford CC 75
Todd Vonderheid Huntsville GC 75
Dom Castrignano Huntsville GC 75
Rick Custer Spring Ford CC 76
Raymond B. Slawecki Spring Ford CC 76
Philip G. Damico Llanerch CC 76
James Dolente, Jr. Llanerch CC 76
Shawn Baker Lancaster CC 76
Kenneth Phillips Lancaster CC 76
John Gershey, Jr. CC of Scranton 76
Charles S. Rogalla CC of Scranton 76
Anthony J. White, Jr. Blue Bell CC 76
William Smyrl Blue Bell CC 76
Tim Dolan Galloway National GC 76
Mark Kosko Seaview Marriott Resort & Spa 76
Glenn McClaskey Philadelphia Publinks 76
Bryan McClaskey Merchantville CC 76
Mark Surtees Deerfield G&TC 76
Thomas Finn Christiana CC 76
Robert P. Billings Rolling Green GC 77
Robert Billings Stone Harbor GC 77
Jim Gavaghan Torresdale-Frankford CC 77
James Anthony, IV Torresdale Frankford CC 77
Michael J Walsh, III Aronimink GC 77
Scott Shelton Aronimink GC 77
Steven P. Walczak Wilmington CC 77
Robert J. Murphy Wilmington CC 77
Jack Holland Whitford CC 77
Thomas Isola Whitford CC 77
Thomas C. Brennan, Jr. Melrose CC 77
Peter O’Connor Huntingdon Valley CC 77
Robert Bechtold Deerfield G&TC 78
J.P. Arrante Deerfield G&TC 78
Joe Durkin CC of Scranton 78
Matt Sullivan CC of Scranton 78
Mike Wilhelm Philadelphia Publinks 78
Paul Cornely Philadelphia Publinks 78
Gil Fritz Heidelberg CC 78
Doug Hess Heidelberg CC 78
Cameron Campbell McCall G&CC 78
Richard J. Bunn McCall G&CC 78
Richard Giberson Links GC 78
Ron Badger Links GC 78
Joseph Kinsman Sandy Run CC 78
Jerry Donofrio Sandy Run CC 78
Bill Milner Running Deer GC 78
Raymond Fuller Running Deer GC 78
Randall Finn Moselem Springs GC 79
John Hannon Moselem Springs GC 79
Joe S. Colbert Spring Mill CC 81
Jim Craig Spring Mill CC 81
Ed M Roberts Old York Road CC 81
Vince Yost Cedarbrook CC 81
Fred Olt Little Mill CC 82
William H Bayles Phoenixville CC 82
Floyd Shaffer Whitemarsh Valley CC 82
William Erskine Green Valley CC 82
Jules Quinones Blue Bell CC 83
Mitch S Harris Blue Bell CC 83
Graham Desmond GC at Glen Mills 83
Paul A. Stuhlmiller GC at Glen Mills 83
John Snyder Waynesborough CC 85
Rob Lodge Waynesborough CC 85
Jason Short Makefield Highlands GC 85
David Cimino Blue Bell CC 85
*-won in scorecard playoff

Share This: